Home /  A Musical Journey Across the Alps

Math & Cultural

A Musical Journey Across the Alps May 05, 2014 (04:30 PM PDT - 06:30 PM PDT)
Parent Program: --
Location: SLMath: Eisenbud Auditorium, Atrium

Join us as we restart the MSRI concert series!

Agave Baroque is a young, award-winning Bay Area ensemble specializing in string chamber music of the seventeenth century.

Monday, May 5, 2014

A Musical Journey Across the Alps

Johann Rosenmüller (1619-1684) - Sonata Quarta (1682)

Isabella Leonarda (1620-1704) - Sonata Prima (1693)

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) - Toccata in E minor, BWV 914

Leonarda - Sonata Duodecima

Antonio Bertali (1605-1669) - Trio Sonata in G major

Leonarda - Sonata Quarta (1693) 

MSRI Simons Auditorium

4:30 p.m. Reception

5:00-6:00 p.m. Concert

The event is free and open to the public.

Agave Baroque has performed to sold-out crowds throughout the Bay Area, including Barefoot Chamber Concerts, Chattanooga Chamber Music, Old First Concerts, Sonoma Bach, and Trinity Chamber Concerts, as well as at Fresno Pacific University, the Museum of Jurassic Technology, The Arizona Early Music Society, Johnsons of Madrid (NM), and the Berkeley Early Music Festival. On-air appearances include KPFK Pacifica Radio in Los Angeles, New Mexico Public Radio, as well as several features on NPR's Harmonia early music radio program. Agave Baroque has also presented several programs to groups of K-12 educators as part of the San Francisco Symphony's "Keeping Score" program.

Beginning with spring 2014 performances, Agave Baroque features a new and expanded lineup—Aaron Westman and Natalie Carducci, baroque violins, William Skeen, viola da gamba, Kevin Cooper, theorbo and baroque guitar, and Henry Lebedinsky, harpsichord and organ.

No Video Uploaded
Media No Notes/Supplements Uploaded No Video Files Uploaded