Home /  2016 CME Group - MSRI Prize

Special Events

2016 CME Group - MSRI Prize February 02, 2017 (09:00 AM PST - 01:00 PM PST)
Parent Program: --

2016 CME Group-MSRI Prize Announced

View Press Release (February 1, 2017)

The 11th annual CME Group-MSRI Prize in Innovative Quantitative Applications will be awarded to ROBERT B. WILSON, Adams Distinguished Professor of Management, Emeritus and Professor of Economics (by courtesy), School of Humanities and Sciences, Stanford Graduate School of Business at a luncheon in Chicago on February 2, 2017.

The CME Group-MSRI Prize is awarded to an individual or a group to recognize originality and innovation in the use of mathematical, statistical or computational methods for the study of the behavior of markets, and more broadly of economics.

About Robert Wilson

Dr. Wilson's research and teaching are on market design, pricing, negotiation, and related topics concerning industrial organization and information economics. He is an expert on game theory and its applications.

Dr. Wilson has been a major contributor to auction designs and competitive bidding
strategies in the oil, communication, and power industries, and to the design of
innovative pricing schemes. His work on pricing of priority service for electric power has
been implemented in the utility industry. His book on Nonlinear Pricing (Oxford Press,
1993) is an encyclopedic analysis of tariff design and related topics for public utilities,
including power, communications, and transport; it won the 1995 Leo Melamed Prize, awarded biannually by the University of Chicago for “outstanding scholarship by a business professor.” His work on game theory includes wage bargaining and strikes, and in legal contexts, settlement negotiations. He has authored some of the basic studies of reputational effects in predatory pricing, price wars, and other competitive battles.

He has published approximately a hundred articles in professional journals and books since completing the Bachelor, Master, and Doctoral degrees at Harvard College and the Harvard Business School. He has been an associate editor of several journals, and delivered several public lectures. He is an elected member of the National Academy of Sciences, a designated distinguished fellow of the American Economic Association, and a fellow, former officer and Council member of the Econometric Society. The Norwegian School of Economics and Business Administration conferred an honorary Doctor of Economics degree in 1986, and the University of Chicago conferred an honorary Doctor of Laws degree in 1995.

About the event

Prior to the lunch and award presentation, a panel discussion on Frontiers of Game-theoretic Applications in Economics will be held with the following panelists:

  • Drew Fudenberg, Professor of Economics, MIT
  • Srihari Govindan, Professor, Department of Economics, University of Rochester
  • Bengt Holmström, Paul A. Samuelson Professor of Economics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. 2013 recipient of the CME-MSRI Prize. 2016 Nobel Prize Winner
  • Paul Milgrom, Shirley R. and Leonard W. Ely Jr. Professor of Humanities and Sciences, Economics Department, Stanford University
  • Roger Myerson, Glen A. Lloyd Distinguished Service Professor of Economics, University of Chicago. 2007 Nobel Prize Winner
  • Philip Reny, The Hugo F. Sonnenschein Distinguished Service Professor in Economics and the College, University of Chicago
  • Alvin Roth, Craig  and  Susan  McCaw  Professor  of  Economics,  Department  of  Economics, Stanford University

2016 CME Group-MSRI Prize Selection Committee:

  • David Eisenbud (chair), Director, Mathematical Sciences Research Institute
  • John P. Gould, Steven G. Rothmeier Professor and Distinguished Service Professor of Economics, Unversity of Chicago Booth School of Business
  • Sandy Grossman, Chairman & CEO, Quantitative Financial Strategies, Inc. 2009 CME-MSRI Prize
  • Lars Peter Hansen, Homer J. Livingston Distinguished Service Professor in the Departments of Economics and Statistics at the University of Chicago. 2008 CME-MSRI Prize. 2013 Nobel Prize Winner
  • Bengt Holmstrom, the Paul A. Samuelson Professor of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and 2013 recipient of the CME-MSRI Prize. 2016 Nobel Prize Winner.
  • Andrew Lo, Charles E. and Susan T. Harris Professor, Professor of Finance and Director of the Laboratory for Financial Engineering, MIT Sloan School of Management
  • Leo Melamed, Chairman Emeritus, CME Group
  • Roger Myerson, Glen A. Lloyd Distinguished Service Professor of Economics, University of Chicago. 2007 Nobel Prize Winner
  • Jose Scheinkman, Charles and Lynn Zhang Professor of Economics, Columbia University. 2014 CME-MSRI Prize
  • Myron Scholes, Frank E. Buck Professor of Finance, Emeritus, Stanford Graduate School of Business
  • Hugo Sonnenschein, Charles L. Hutchinson Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus, University of Chicago
  • Nancy Stokey, Frederick Henry Prince Distinguished Service Professor of Economics, University of Chicago
  • Jean Tirole, Scientific Director of Industrial Economics Institute (IDEI) and Member of the Toulouse School of Economics and 2010 recipient of the CME-MSRI Prize

Medal awarded to the winner of the CME Group-MSRI Prize


The CME Center for Innovation’s mission is to identify, foster and showcase examples of significant innovation and creative thinking pertaining to markets, commerce or trade in the public and private sectors.

A list of past winners can be found on the CME Group-MSRI Prize site.
No Video Uploaded
Media No Notes/Supplements Uploaded No Video Files Uploaded