/ /

MSRI-UP 2012 People

MSRI-UP 2012: Enumerative Combinatorics

Home Research Topic People Colloquia Research Projects

MSRI-UP 2012 Staff

Ricardo Cortez, On-Site Director

R. Cortez is Professor of Mathematics and Director of the Center for Computational Science at Tulane University. His research is in numerical analysis and computational fluid dynamics with applications to biological flows.

Matthias Beck, Research Director

Dr. Matthias Beck is an Associate Professor in Mathematics at San Francisco State University, where he arrived in 2004 after studies at the University of Würzburg, SUNY Oneonta, and Temple University, and postdoctoral positions at SUNY Binghamton, the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute, and the Max-Planck-Institute in Bonn. His research is situated in the intersection of combinatorics, geometry, and number theory; he is particularly fond of counting integer points in polyhedra and the application of these enumeration functions to various combinatorial and number-theoretic topics and problems. He (co-)authored two books and many research papers, more than a third of which feature student coauthors. He has mentored numerous research students at SF State, UC Berkeley, and UC Davis, directs the NSF-sponsored (CM)^2 GK-12 program at SF State, and is one of the codirectors of the San Francisco Math Circle.

Michael Young, Postdoc

Michael young
M. Young is a postdoctoral researcher in Mathematics at Iowa State University. His research interests are in Combinatorics, Graph Theory, Ramsey and Anti-Ramsey Theory, Extremal Graph Theory, Game Theory, Zero Forcing, and Linear Algebra.

Ana Berrizbeitia, Graduate Assistant

Img 1378
A. Berrizbeitia is a graduate student at the University of Texas at Austin. Her research interests are in areas of Number Theory.

Amanda Ruiz, Graduate Assistant

A. Ruiz is a graduate student at Binghamton University. Her research interests are in Matroid theory, combinatorics„ complex matroids, mathematics education.

MSRI-UP 2012 Students

Alyssa Cuyjet, Trinity College
Jessica De Silva, California State University, Stanislaus
Erika Meza, Loyola Marymount University
Claudia Rodriguez, Arizona State University
Molly Stubblefield, Western Oregon University
Michael Dairyko, Pomona College
Joseph Pruitt, California State University, Long Beach
Jordan Clark, Morehouse College
Gabriel Dorfsman-Hopkins, Dartmouth College
Stefan Klajbor, University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras
Bryan Nevarez, CUNY Queens College
Gordon Kirby, Stanford University
Schuyler Veeneman, San Francisco State University
Alana Shine, Pomona College
Taina Jean-Louis, Amherst College
Chelsie Norton, Valdosta State University
Joseph Crawford, Morehouse College
Daniel Blado, California Institute of Technology